Akshay Karnewar Wiki, Height, Age, Wife, Family, Biography & More

Akshay Karnewar is an aspiring cricketer who plays for Vidarbha team in the domestic circuit. He represents his team in first-class and List-A games. He also plays Twenty20 and became famous for his record achievement of bowling four full overs of his quota without conceding any runs and taking two wickets.


Akshay Karnewar was born on Monday, 12 October 1992 (age 29 years; as in 2021) in Wagholi, Maharashtra. His zodiac sign is Libra. He started playing cricket at the age of six and at the age of 13, he was noticed by his coach Balu Navghare, who suggested him to bowl left-arm spin instead of right-arm. A few years later, he played the DY Patil T20 League in Mumbai and then gave trials for the Rajasthan Royals team, where he was not selected.

Akshay Karnewar in 2014

Akshay Karnewar in 2014

Gradually, in December 2015, he made his debut in List-A cricket and later first-class cricket for the Vidarbha team. In 2016, he was bought by Royal Challengers Bangalore in the IPL for Rs 10 lakh.

Akshay Karnewar for Royal Challengers Bangalore

Akshay Karnewar for Royal Challengers Bangalore

Physical Appearance

Height (Approx): 5′ 9″

Hair Color: Natural Black

Eye colour: dark brown

Vidarbha bowler Akshay Karnewar bowling


Akshay Karnewar belongs to a Maharashtrian family.

parents and siblings

His father’s name is Kishan Karnewar and he is a retired driver from Maharashtra State Road Transport Corporation.


Akshay Karnewar with his wife

Akshay Karnewar with his wife


Nagpur, Maharashtra


He played his first major tournament on 10 December 2015 in a List-A game for Vidarbha against the Odisha team in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. He not only impressed the critics with his two wickets but also scored 72 valuable runs. He became the leading wicket-taker for Vidarbha (16) in that tournament. Following that series, he took seven wickets in nine matches in the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 (SMAT) tournament. His next debut match was a Twenty20 game against Gujarat on 3 January 2016 at the Vidarbha Cricket Stadium in Nagpur (Maharashtra). Batting first, Gujarat scored 174 runs on the board. In reply, Vidarbha could score only 114 runs and lost the match by 60 runs. Akshay was expensive in two overs, where he gave away 26 runs without taking any wicket. Soon, on 27 October 2016, he made his first-class debut against Jharkhand in a Ranji Trophy game. In this match he took two wickets and scored 39 runs. His first five-wicket haul was against the Punjab team in the 2017–18 Ranji season. He then played a practice match for the Board President’s XI against Australia in the same year, taking one wicket of Travis Head for 59 runs in six overs.

See also  'Uncle' Austin Butler Chills in the Pool With Ashley Tisdale's Daughter Jupiter - See The Sweet Pic!

Akshay Karnewar bowled left handed against Australia

Akshay Karnewar bowled left handed against Australia

Akshay Karnewar bowling with right hand

Akshay Karnewar bowling with right hand

His first century in domestic cricket came against the Rest of India (ROI) team in the Irani Trophy on 14 February 2019, helping his team win the prestigious title for the second consecutive time.

Vidarbha’s Akshay Karnewar is a rare cricketer who bowls with the same action, both left-handed and right-handed.

During the match between Vidarbha and Rest of India in which Akshay was declared man of the match

Classic!! pic.twitter.com/DbJEnRJy7q

– Nigel D’Souza (@Nigel__DSouza) 21 February 2019

Historic Twenty20 spell

On 8 November 2021, he entered the record books with his first spell of the full quota of four overs in the Syed Mushtaq Ali match against Manipur. With the help of Jitesh Sharma and Apoorva Wankhede, Vidarbha scored 222 runs on the board. Manipur, on the other hand, looked to be derailed throughout the chase and were bowled out for 55 runs in 17 overs. Actually, Akshay was removed from bowling after bowling three consecutive maiden overs. When he returned, he bowled six dot balls and completed his four-over spell with zero runs for two wickets. This is the first full quota T20 spell where the bowler did not concede any runs in men’s cricket.

Akshay Karnewar bowling with left hand

Akshay Karnewar bowling against Manipur

After this he talked to the media.

“It’s incredible. Not conceding a single run in the whole match is extraordinary and I feel really good.’

Former Vidarbha coach Sulakshan Kulkarni praised his efforts and said,

“He is a big performer. He showed his prowess with the bat in Vidarbha’s second Ranji final. Then, scored 100 runs in the Irani Trophy and now registered another big performance.

See also  Meredith Foster - Updated February 2024

A new chapter in his record book was still awaited the next day, when he took a hat-trick against Sikkim on the last two balls of the eighth over and the first ball of the tenth over. Vidarbha had put 205 runs on the board. Sikkim could score only 75 runs after losing eight wickets in 20 overs. Akshay completed his spell by taking five runs and four wickets in four overs. Interestingly, two of these dismissals were caught by the bowler and one was hit-wicket. Ajit Karthik, captain Kranti Kumar, wicketkeeper Ashish Thapa and Nilesh Lamichani became their victims.

Akshay Karnewar bowling against Sikkim

Akshay Karnewar bowling against Sikkim


Facts/General Knowledge

  • Speaking in an interview with a local news channel, he spoke about his journey of bisexual bowling, saying that,

    “When I was 13 years old, my coach Balu Navghare asked me if I could bowl left-handed. Since then I have been using both my arms. My intention is always to take wickets. I first see how the batsman is playing and then decide whether I really want to use both my hands to take his wicket. Sometimes, I don’t need it.”

    He also said,

    He said, “I generally bowl off-spin. My coach told me to bowl with my left hand. Due to lack of left arm spinner in the team, I bowled a lot and was successful. But now I can bowl with both hands. Not only this, I can do many things with both hands.

  • His bowling in the practice match against Australia so impressed Australian all-rounder Marcus Stoinis that he commented,

    “I didn’t really know what the umpire was trying to say to me. What he was trying to say was ‘he will bowl to you left-handed.’ So that’s fantastic by them. I have never seen anything like this before.”

See also  Kim Seung-gyu- Wiki, Age, Height, Net Worth, Wife, Ethnicity, Career

Categories: Biography
Source: vcmp.edu.vn

Leave a Comment